Rantings of a sub-editor

February 16, 2010

Made-up words

Filed under: made-up words,Substuff says... — substuff @ 11:26 am
Tags: ,

On occasion, I discover that a word I had always thought existed is in fact a figment of my imagination. Does anyone else have these?

To misle – until quite recently, I believed there was such a word, because of all the times I had read “he misled her”, etc. And I gave it a slightly sneakier meaning than ‘mislead’ – more along the lines of ‘hoodwink’ (which is an excellent word!).

And a couple of other similar things I’ll own up to:

Misunderestimate – a mating of misunderstand and underestimate. I’ve never actually written this one, but when I’m speaking of misunderstandings and underestimations, it’s always lurking there waiting to spring out.

Survery – my fingers won’t let me type ‘survey’ without inserting an ‘r’. Perhaps a hangover from that long-ago dissertation on slavery? Or perhaps I have a subconscious obsession with serveries.

Anyone else care to confess?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

