Rantings of a sub-editor

May 7, 2010

A bit of a damp squid

Filed under: damp squid,oops! — substuff @ 8:59 am
Tags: , ,

I can only think of one appropriate response to this email – and that is to feature it in all its shining glory. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you my red-faced mother (be kind to her, we’ve all been there or thereabouts at some point!):

Subject: HOW EMBARRASSING!!!
Date: Fri, 7 May 2010 06:32:57 +0000

My text to Radio Sussex this morning about reasons why one did not vote for the preferred party prompted a mini debate about a phrase I used – “damp squid”.

All my life I thought it was squid only to discover, on air, that it is squib??!!  How very, very embarrassing  and how very much I wished I had stayed anonymous 

Use this gaffe how you wish – or is it gaff??  I learnt that the hard way too!

Congrats to Brighton Pavilion for the first Green Candidate to win a seat.

xx

Aww Mum, I feel your pain!

For the unenlightened (myself included until a couple of minutes ago) a squib is an explosive – and a damp squib, therefore, is an explosive that fails to, erm, explode. I’ll let Wikipedia explain. Personally I like damp squid, though. Reminds me of a certain party leader.

box of squid

box of squibs

1 Comment »

  1. squids and octopodes are best when dripping rather than merely damp, so a damp squid might well be as underwhelming as a soggy explosive.

    i think Substuff Snr may have a point.

    Comment by charlie wright — May 7, 2010 @ 11:40 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

