Rantings of a sub-editor

December 13, 2010

Ladies in Pigs

Filed under: nice carcass,wish you hadn't — substuff @ 1:33 pm
Tags: ,

hunky industry carcasses

You think I made up that headline, don’t you. Well, I didn’t. In the course of my sausage-taste-test editing, I have come across an organisation called just that: Ladies in Pigs. Or LIPs, for short. What? My face is straight – I don’t know what you’re laughing at.

No, I’m not joking – see for yourselves: www.ladiesinpigs.co.uk.

What do they do? “Ladies in Pigs supports the pig industry by working to increase the awareness and hence consumption and value of Quality Standard pork, bacon, ham and sausages. If you have a ‘passion for pork’ and a desire to support pig farming, then help us to be even more successful by JOINING our group.”

So, now you know. If you have a passion for pork, or even a “passion for pork”, that’s the place to go.

But this is the bit I love… they’ve made a calendar. Ohhh yes. Here it is. Countless are the times I’ve longed for a nice picture of a butcher covering his modesty with the carcass of a pig, and here are my dreams delivered. Mm mm mmm.

Oh no, hang on, THIS is the bit I love. The “about” copy on the link to the calendar. Hover over the picture and it says… “Click here for more information on how to get a calendar showcasing some of the hunkiest industry carcases ever seen.”

Hunky industry carcasses? Oh yes! “Carcass” is going to be the hot compliment in 2011. Get practising. “Nice carcass, honey.” “If I told you you had a nice carcass, would you hold it against me?” I’m seeing the Valentine’s cards already.

And in case anyone is bridling at me mixing two spellings of carcase/carcass, I’m already there. Me, I prefer carcass (not something I say too often in company). But carcase is also an accepted (and for some publications preferred) spelling.

By the bye, I have just been enlightened about several pork-related delicacies along the lines of pigs in blankets. Apparently:

  • devils on horseback are prunes in bacon
  • angels on horseback are oysters in bacon
  • farts on horseback are jerusalem artichokes in bacon

Clearly this poses the question: what on earth are ladies in pigs?

2 Comments »

  1. They need to sack the person who does their weblinks (i.e. http://www.ladiesinpigs.co.uk/Suport_British_Pork_Calander.pdf).

    Comment by Simon — December 13, 2010 @ 7:16 pm | Reply

    • Ooh yes, there are some lovely typos. My favourite: “Keen to do something different within the Pig industry some daring farmers, butches and industry leaders decided to ditch their normal day jobs to pose in an assortment of humorous images to raise money.”

      How liberal.

      Comment by substuff — December 13, 2010 @ 7:42 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

